The Last Word 2019

A Festival Where Words Come Alive

The Last Word festival is here to shake things up.

Experience 19 days of powerful, captivating performances. From poetry to podcasts, rap battles to supper clubs, The Last Word blurs the lines between spoken word, music, circus, and cabaret.

See some of the most compelling and underrepresented voices pushing poetic conventions and provoking conversations around issues we face as a society.

Utter Circus_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Utter Circus

Triple bill

Monday 3 June

Poetry Collective social.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Roundhouse Poetry Collective Live

Roundhouse Poetry Collective

Tuesday 4 June at 8pm & Tuesday 11 June at 7.30pm

Parris is Dreaming_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Parris is Dreaming

House of Sears

Wednesday 5 June

WWAO-1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

What Words Are Ours?

Talia Randall

Thursday 6 June

Unbraided 1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Unbraided

Rakaya Esime Fetuga

Thursday 6 June

A show about trains 1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

A Show About Trains

Kit Finnie

Friday 7 June

Losing the Night_NEW.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Losing The Night

+ 'Anything on Your Mind, Babe?' by Katie Gill

Friday 7 June

Fatty Fat Fat_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Fatty Fat Fat

Katie Greenall and Daisy Hale

Sunday 9 June

UniSlam_Tomorrow's Poets 1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

UniSlam Presents: Tomorrow’s Poets

with Debris Stevenson

Tuesday 11 June

Cheerleader & Coming to the WaterNEW_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Double Bill: Cheerleader & Coming to the Water

Chifa K &Tatenda Naomi Matsvai

Tuesday 11 June

Community 1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Community

by Fruitcake

Wednesday 12 June

Film Fund Screening_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Film Fund Screening

Roundhouse in partnership with Ex-Animo and the London Short Film Festival

Wednesday 12 June

Badass Mums_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Badass Mums Live

with Yasmin Elizabeth

Thursday 13 June

Born Free_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

BORN::FREE

Veranda

Thursday 13 June

On the Ground Reporting_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

On-The-Ground Reporting Workshop

with Mimi Mefo

Thursday 13 June

BFC_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

The Black Flamingo Cabaret

by Dean Atta

Friday 14 June

Lounge_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word Festival 2019

The Lounge

Manor The Latekid + Friends

Friday 14 June

Words, Rhyme and Steam 1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Words, Rhymes and Steam

Steam Down family

Saturday 15 June

The Clink_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

The Clink pop-up Sunday Lunch

Sunday 16 June

This In Progress_NEW_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

This: In Progress

Rose Eye Productions

Tuesday 18 June

Wax Lyrical Screening_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word Festival

Untapped Nation: The Film

Tuesday 18 June

Red Reign_HOLDING.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Women Must

Directed and devised by Kat Francois

Wednesday 19 June

The MixRace MixTape_1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

The MixRace Mixtape

John-Paul Zaccarini

Thursday 20 June

BoxedIN_NEW.jpg

The Last Word 2019

BoxedIn: Clash

Friday 21 June

Huh 1200x680.jpg

The Last Word 2019

Huh

Jasmin Kent Rodgman

Saturday 22 June